Ace riders Jacques Gunawardena and Dushan Mudalige are among the recipients for the main awards at the annual National Riders’ Awards Ceremony of Sri Lanka Motorcycle Federation (FMSSL), which will take place at the Eagle Lagoon Hotel in Katunayake on Saturday, March 14.

The awards ceremony will be held for the event calendar of 2019 and winners have been determined based on their performances at different motorcross events held throughout the year. The awards ceremony will be held from 7.30pm in which eight top awards will be on offer.

The awards ceremony will be spearheaded by veteran rider Feroze Omar, and besides the eight main awards listed, four special awards will be presented for local riders for their representation of the country at international meets.

Among the winners for the four special awards are, Hansika Abeysinghe, who was placed third in the Asia Cup Road Racing 2019, Rishitha Prashan, Nikhila Mathirage and Vinula Pathirage. Kesara Godage, Madhura Peiris, Shanuka Sandaruwan, Deshan Solanki and Jacque Gunawardene, have been listed as winners from the gravel category, while Hansika Abeysinghe, Nipuna Thilanga and Dushan Mudalige will claim awards from the tarmac category.



Gravel Category

Class J up to 150cc Motorcross (U nder-15): Kesara Godage

Class MX up to 125cc Motorcross: Madhura Peiris

Class M up to 250cc Standard and Modified (Street Trails): Shanuka Sandaruwan

Class SM 250cc up to 750cc Super Motard: Deshan Solanki

Class MX 125cc up to 250cc Motorcross: Jacque Gunawardene


Tarmac Category

Class O 125cc up to 160cc: Hansika Abeysinghe

Class M Standard and Modified 125cc up to 250cc: Nipuna Thilanka

Class SM 125cc up to 250cc Super Motard: Dushan Mudalige