The 24th Eliyakanda Hill Climb, organized by the Southern Motor Sports Club (SMSC) will be held on February 23 at 8.00am at the 600metre long Brown Hill course in Matara. The most anticipated motor car and motorbike hill climb will herald the 2020 motorsports calendar, with well known drivers and riders in contention.

The tarmac course, which stretches 600 meters, will be the track for 14 motor car events and eight motorbike events, where over 200 competitors are expected to feature. The top three finishers of all events are guaranteed with a trophy and a certificate, while the competitors to finish the course with the best timing will be named the Best Driver and Best Rider in each category.

Renowned driver Ashan Silva is the current title holder of the Best Driver with his timing of 32.61 seconds in the SL GT up to 3500cc Motorcar category, which was recorded last year. Last year Dushan Mudalige finished the hill climb in 34.43 seconds in the Class MX up to 250cc Super Motard event to emerged the Best Rider.

“I intend to retain the Preethi Palliyaguru Trophy as the climb gets faster each year. I’m looking forward to reclaim the top spot again, perhaps with an event record,” Silva, the current holder of Best Rider award, stated.

However Dilan Seneviratne holds the current record of the Eliyakanda Hill Climb in its history of 23 years, when he clocked 32.42 seconds in the SLF up to 1665cc Formula McLarens event in 2018.

“It takes a lot of skill to negotiate this track, particularly the second hairpin bend, which is a real challenge. The Eliyakanda Hill Climb track is safe and I’m looking forward to rewrite the record books on the 24th installation of the event,” Seneviratne stated.

The SMSC has currently opened calling in of entries for the event, which could be submitted at No.55, Kumaratunga Mawatha, Matara, at Marble Deco, No. 175, Nawala Road, Nugegoda or at Auto Center, Akuressa Road, Hitthetiya, Matara.