The annual motorsport calendar for the year 2020 of Sri Lanka Automobile Sports (SLAS) and its affiliations, was released at its Annual general Meeting (AGM), which was held last week. According to the 2020 racing calendar, SLAS, the parent body for motorsports in Sri Lanka, has retained the organising right of the ever popular Fox Hill Supercross in the upcoming season.

The motorsport calendar, released by SLAS, includes 21 events lined up for the coming year. This includes eight Supercross events, five Road Races, four Rallies and three each of Rally Cross and Hill Climbs. The calendar will flag off with the Eliyakanda Hill Climb, to be held on February 22 and 23 in Matara and will wind up with the Negombo Speed Rally, which is scheduled for November 28 and 29.

Out of the 21 events, four will be organsed by the Sri Lanka Autosports Drivers’ Association (SLADA), while Sri Lanka Association for Racing Drivers and Riders (SLARDAR) and Sri Lanka Motorcycle Club (SLMCC) will take the lead in organising three events each. The Negombo Motor Sports Club (NMSC) and Motor Racing Association (MRA) will organise two events each.

One event each will be organised by the Southern Motor Sports Club (SMSC), Asian Motor Racing Club (AMRC), Ceylon Motor Sport Club (CMSC) and Colombo Motor Sport Club. In addition SMSC and MRA will jointly organise an event — the Rally Sri Lanka, which will be held in mid September.

The SLAS announced that the calendar is subjected to alteration, in which events could be removed, added or have the dates altered if and when the calendar begins to come active.

Motorsport calendar for 2020

February 22 and 23: Eliyakanda Hill Climb 2020 (SMSC)
March 7 and 8: Northern Speed Rally (MRA)
March 21 and 22: Colombo Super Cross (SLARDAR)
April 4: Radella Hill Climb (SLMCC)
April 5: Mahagastota Hill Climb (CMSC)
April 18 and 19: Fox Hill Super Cross (SLAS)
April 25 and 26: Nuwara Eliya Road Race (SLMCC)
May 30 and 31: Walawe Super Cross (SLMCC)
June 5 and 7: Sigiriya Rally Cross (SLADA)
June 13 and 14: Cavalry Super Cross (SLARDAR)
June 27 and 28: Katukurunda Circuit Meet (AMRC)
July 11 and 12: Pannala Circuit Meet (NMSC)
July 25 and 26: Gunners Super Cross (SLADA)
August 8 and 9: Commando Super Cross (SLARDA)
August 22 and 23: Gajaba Super Cross (SLADA)
September 5 and 6: Gympo Sappers (SLAMSC)
September 12 and 13: Katukurunda Circuit Meet (CBO/MSC)
September 19 and 20: Rally Sri Lanka (SMSC/MRA)
October 3 and 4: Mullaitivu Speed Rally (MRA)
October 17 and 18: Rotherham Katukurunda (SLADA)
November 28 and 29: Negombo Speed Rally (NMSC)