Ashan Silva and Jacques Gunawardena bagged the Best Driver and the Best Rider Trophies respectively at the Colombo Supercross 2019, at the Naval Motor Racing Track, Welisara recently.

The meet was organized by the Sri Lanka Association of Racing Drivers and Riders (SLARDAR) and Asian Motor Racing Club (AMRC) with the partnership of Hutch Telecommunication (Pvt) Ltd. Colombo Super Series was conducted by the Sri Lanka Navy Motor Racing Club as the final event of Hutch Sri Lanka Super Series.

Ashan, who was in the lead from the beginning of the season and was followed closely by his rival Ushan Perera with only a slender margin of two points, made no mistakes to take charge of the 2019 Championship for the third year in a row.

The first race in this Class saw Ashan get off to a good start though the track was not very conducive for fast driving.

This start helped him immensely and moved ahead very comfortably to lead by nearly 400 meters by the third lap of the race.

It was then a battle between Pasindu Peiris and Ishraq Wahab for the second and third positions. Peiris who entered the track after a lapse of two years showed that he is still capable of facing the challenges that come his way.

The young rider Jacques Gunawardena, who was well ahead of rival riders by 13 points before the Colombo Supercross, sealed his Championship title by becoming the best rider while competing in the Group MX over 175 up to 250 4/T & 100 up to 125cc in Race One to be placed second behind Vinusha de Silva.

But he came back strongly in Race Two to beat all leading riders including Evon Gurusinghe, Sameera Premaratne and Shanuka Sandaruwan.

Jacques was off to a great start under heavy ground conditions and kept on moving steadily to increase his lead while leaving no room for other riders to get closer to him at any stage of the race. This race was a thrilling one for all spectators as the tussle for the second slot saw a ding-dong battle between Vinusha de Silva and DMD Kalhara.

In Group T & J Class another youngster Chamod Samarakoon, the son of former driver in the same category and present Secretary of the Army Motor Sports Committee Indu Samarakoon, came up with a brilliant performance to win this Class. He was able to out-drive senior hands in the caliber of Manjula Wijesinghe and Duminda Silva.

The two events of the Group SM Super Motard category too was expected to be evenly contested by the two leading riders in this category, Imal Manchanayake and Deshan Solanki.

It went against these two two riders as Vinusha de Silva took the first race victory to show that he can challenge seniors in the future.

Upulwan Serasinghe one of the leading drivers who was dominating in the 1300, 1500 and 1600cc classes failed to live up to expectations as many young drivers contested these categories including his son Devin.

However on this day it was Shenal Gunawardena who was the star at Welisara winning the Ford Laser/Mazda 1300cc Class in a comfortable manner.

He had a fine start and was in full control of the event until he received the flag.